OSSBA Names Outstanding School Board Members

Five Oklahoma school board members have been named to the Oklahoma State School Boards Association’s 2018 All-State School Board for their outstanding service on their local school boards and to the state. A sixth board member was selected as the OSSBA Distinguished Service Award honoree.

The winners are:

  • Les Pettitt, a member of the Bethany Public Schools board since 2002.
  • Debbie Biehler, a member of the Chisholm Trail Technology Center board since 1987.
  • Cindy Nashert, a member of the Norman Public Schools board since 2013.
  • Jimmie Jarrell, a member of the Stratford Public Schools board since 2005.
  • Gary Percefull, a member of the Tulsa Public Schools board since 2003.

Percefull also was chosen as the Buddy Spencer Leadership Award winner, recognizing him as the year’s most outstanding board member.

Marilyn Mabrey Sulivant, who has served on the Green Country Technology Center board since 1990, was selected as OSSBA’s Distinguished Service Award winner.

“The role of local school board members is critical to ensuring our children are well-prepared for the future,” said OSSBA Executive Director Shawn Hime. “We are proud to honor these board members for their dedication, commitment and service.”

The All-State board is an honorary board that includes five of the most outstanding board members of the year. Superintendents or other board members can submit nominations, and winners are selected by a committee of individuals who serve on OSSBA’s board of directors. The selection committee doesn’t include board members from nominee districts. Each winner receives $400 for their district to spend on instructional materials.

The committee also selects one All-State board member to receive the Buddy Spencer Leadership Award. The recipient must demonstrate leadership on a local or state level and a dedication to improving his or her boardsmanship. The award includes $600 for the district to spend on instructional materials.

The Distinguished Service Award honors a board member whose leadership includes distinguished service acts for students, school, professionals, patrons, community and/or state; and distinguished service to the OSSBA.

The winners are announced annually in January as part of school board recognition month activities. They will be honored at the annual Oklahoma State School Boards Association/Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration joint conference in August.