Parrott Named to OSSBA Board

Parrott Named to OSSBA Board

Dorrie Parrott

A longtime El Reno school board member is the newest member of the governing board of the Oklahoma State School Boards Association. Dorrie Parrott recently was elected as an OSSBA Region 10 director by her fellow school board members in the region.

“Dr. Parrott is an excellent addition to the OSSBA board,” said OSSBA Executive Director Shawn Hime. “Members of our board of directors come from all walks of life and represent a diverse mix of urban, suburban and rural school districts. I believe her unique combination of her professional background and experience and serving on the El Reno board will provide important perspective to our association as we seek to best support public education and local school boards.”

Parrott joined the El Reno school board in 2010. She serves as a veterinarian for the El Reno-based Grazinglands Research Laboratory at the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Research Service.

“OSSBA is a great organization, and I’m honored to be part of an association that provides such strong support for local school board members and school districts,” Parrott said.

Parrott is a native of Calumet, a graduate of Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine and her mom was a longtime educator in El Reno.

“I grew up around people who believed in public education, and it helped me develop a passion for students and their education. I’m grateful for the opportunity to serve my local community on the El Reno board, and I look forward to being more involved at a statewide level to ensure local boards are valued and have the resources they need to support student success.”

Parrott serves on the El Reno Mainstreet board and is an active member of Wesley United Methodist Church. She was named El Reno Citizen of the Year in 2010 and El Reno Volunteer of the Year in 2016.

OSSBA is a statewide organization that works to promote quality public education for the children of Oklahoma through training and information services to school board members and school districts. Its board of directors is comprised of 32 school board members from across the state, including two who serve on career-technology center boards. Region 10 includes Kingfisher, Blaine, Canadian, Grady and County counties and is also represented on the OSSBA board by Anadarko school board member Jackie McComas.